IET announces search for the world’s best innovators in engineering, science and technology

The IET Innovation Awards are designed to recognise breakthrough innovations which have advanced their respective field across 15 categories from energy and sustainability to transport and healthcare.

The awards, which run annually, cover an international scope and are free to enter to anyone with a new and innovative product or service – providing budding or established engineering inventors with a unique platform to gain exposure for their ideas. All shortlisted and winning entries will be promoted to the IET’s 160,000 members across the globe.

The awards scheme, now in its 11th year, is renowned for raising the profile of its winners and bringing them to a wider audience. Many former Innovation Award winners report increased interest in their products as a result of winning the accolade. Previous winners have included a tiny insertable cardiac monitor, a fridge that can stay cold without power and a landmine detection radar algorithm.

The scheme is open to organisations or individuals doing something that will introduce a technological step change and that contributes to better ways of doing things, new products, enhanced performance or better value.

William Webb, IET president, said, ‘Innovation is essential for the growth of the global economy and raising the standard of living of all communities. Innovation is the differentiator that makes companies successful and, in keeping with the IET’s mission to inspire excellence in engineering and technology, we now invite applications to find the best innovations from across the world.

Entries are sought in the following categories:
    •    Asset Management
    •    Built Environment
    •    Communications
    •    Emerging Technology Design
    •    Healthcare Technologies
    •    Information Technology
    •    Intelligent Systems
    •    Manufacturing Technology
    •    Measurement in Action
    •    Model-Based Engineering
    •    Navigation and Surveillance Communications
    •    Power / Energy
    •    Start-up
    •    Sustainability
    •    Transport

Each category of the Innovation Awards is independently judged by a panel of experts in that field, with the shortlist announced in late September. The winners will be revealed at a black tie dinner and ceremony on Wednesday 18th November 2015 at the Brewery in London.

To find out more about the Innovation Awards, sponsorship opportunities or to submit an entry, please visit The deadline for entries is Friday 3rd July 2015.

You May Also Like

Donald W Orr Becomes New Select President

Donald W Orr has been elected as the new President of Select, the trade ...

Charity Go-Kart competition to remember apprentice racer

Charity Go-Kart competition to remember apprentice racer
 JTL, the leading work-based learning specialist in ...

Dimplex makes MCS easy

Dimplex makes MCS easy Dimplex is giving a helping hand to installers wanting to ...