Nominees announced for Select Awards 2019

The shortlist for this year’s Select Awards has been revealed after a record number of entrants put their names forward for the annual event.

The final winners for 2019 will be announced at a ceremony held at the Radisson Blu in Glasgow on October 11.

The judging panel faced a tough task to narrow down so many excellent entries when they met at The Walled Garden on July 25. Copies of the submissions were sent to judges beforehand, and they were asked to nominate their top entries in each of the seven categories. After plenty of discussion, the final shortlist of nominees was drawn up.

A round of face-to-face judging with another independent judge will now follow before the awards are presented at a gala dinner, where more than 400 guests will enjoy a dinner dance and top-class entertainment.

As well as the established categories – including best small, medium and large contractor – there are awards for apprentice of the year, best new product and lifetime achievement.

Chair of the judging panel, Stan Johnston, says, “Judging was extremely tough due to the high standard of all entries. Each nominee has shown extremely high levels of dedication, commitment and skill. We look forward to speaking to them all and revealing the winners on October 11.”

The 2019 nominees are as follows:

Best Delivery of Customer Service, sponsored by MacRoberts LLP

  • Electrical Solutions Network (Ayr)
  • Gordon Eason Electrical (Kirkcaldy, Fife)
  • Matt Burton Electrical  (Newton Stewart, Dumfriesshire)
  • Safe Building Scheme (Edinburgh)

Best Health & Safety Initiative Award, sponsored by Electrical Safety First

  • EDI-Aberdeen (Aberdeen)
  • Ideal Electrical Solutions (UK) (Edinburgh)
  • J S M Electrical Services (Perth)

Best Visual Promotion, sponsored by Connect Communications

  • Ideal Electrical Solutions (UK) (Edinburgh)
  • I-Protech Technology (Inverurie, Aberdeenshire)
  • Matt Burton Electrical (Newton Stewart, Dumfriesshire)

Best Use of Training (sponsor to be announced)

  • J F M Electrical (Bellshill, Lanarkshire)
  • John Noble Electrical Contractors (Bonnyrigg, Midlothian)
  • Kenneth Ferguson Electrical Contractors (Connel, Oban, Argyll and Bute)
  • Westside Electrical Services (Shetlands)

Best Small Contractor (up to £250k turnover), sponsored by EC Insurance Company

  • Aberdeenshire Electrical Services (Aboyne, Aberdeenshire)
  • Gordon Eason Electrical (Kirkcaldy, Fife)
  • R H Electrical (Aberdeen)

Best Medium-Sized Contractor (from £250k to £1m turnover), sponsored by Rexel

  • Electrical Solutions Network (Ayr)
  • Ideal Electrical Solutions (UK) (Edinburgh)
  • Interlink Lighting & Electrical (Glasgow)
  • I-Protech Technology (Inverurie, Aberdeenshire)

Best Large Contractor (over £1m turnover), Sponsored by Megger

  • Booth Welsh (Irvine, Ayrshire)
  • E Fraser Electrical (Orkney)

As well as the seven main awards, four other awards will be made on the night:

  • Best New Product, sponsored by City Electrical Factors (CEF)
  • Apprentice of the Year, sponsored by SJIB and Edmundson Electrical
  • EDA Scottish Section Wholesaler Apprentice of the Year, sponsored by EDA Apprenticeships Plus
  • Lifetime Achievement, sponsored by Schneider Electric

The 2019 Judging Panel

  • Stan Johnston, Chairman
  • Alan Wilson, Managing Director, Select
  • Iain Mason, Head of Membership and Communications, Select
  • Sarah Wolstencroft, Editor, CABLEtalk
  • Ken Lewandowski, Former Clydesdale Bank Chairman
  • Wayne Mackay, Electrical Safety First
  • Anne Vessey, Head of Marketing & Communications, EDA

You May Also Like

makita site light

Makita launches new site light

Makita has launched a new self-balancing area site light – the latest addition to ...

Aico launches Controlfacts App for new alarm controller

Aico launches Controlfacts App for new alarm controller Aico has launched the Controlfacts App ...

Construction boost

Construction receives financial boost during pandemic

New analysis from Powered Now has revealed that the home improvement boom experienced during ...