SELECT helps blaze a trail as industry unites to promote fire sector skills

SELECT has helped shape a new Occupational Qualification Structure by the Fire, Emergency and Security Systems (FESS) industry that will lead to Electrotechnical Certification Scheme (ECS) Card recognition.

Aimed at promoting high standards and skills, the new structure has been developed by an industry-wide working group formed by SELECT and other leading trade associations and employer representatives including:

  • British Security Industry Association (BSIA)
  • FESS Employer Group
  • Fire Industry Association (FIA)
  • Fire & Security Association (FSA)
  • Security Systems and Alarm Inspection Board (SSAIB)
  • Joint Industry Board (JIB)

Uniquely recognising the introduction of the FESS Trailblazer, the new structure sets the standard for new entrants to the market at Level 3 while also addressing the need to recognise the training, experience and qualifications of the current workforce.

This new pathway recognises the differences in training, experience and qualifications for those already in the industry, which critically identifies a minimum standard for those who install and maintain fire, emergency and security systems.

Fiona Harper, Director of Employment and Skills at SELECT, said: “This new development is a significant step forward as it recognises existing professionalism and also blends upskilling and training with formal and structured assessment.

“SELECT particularly welcomes its introduction as it dovetails perfectly with our own ongoing contribution towards modernisation of the ECS in Scotland. Ensuring the FESS workforce of tomorrow has the correct qualifications with meaningful assessments also reinforces the importance of our campaign for protection of title, to ensure only properly qualified individuals build an electric future for us all.”

Jay Parmar, Chief Executive of the JIB, said: “I’m delighted to have worked alongside the Fire, Emergency and Security Systems industry who collectively represent over 3,000 companies with over 80,000 employees who will benefit from the introduction of the new Occupational Qualification Structure and the new suite of ECS cards which recognise the skills of the entire FESS workforce.

“A key strength of ECS and its partnership with CSCS is that it provides assurance that cardholders working across sites in the UK have a high level of skills and experience.”

There are now four sector disciplines recognised by the Electrotechnical Certification Scheme (ECS) in the Fire, Emergency and Security Systems (FESS) industry which include:

  • Fire
  • Fire and emergency lighting
  • Security (Including access control, intruder and CCTV systems)
  • Fire and security.

Each sector recognises three disciplines which include Systems Operative, Systems Technician and Technical Manager. In addition, the occupations of Labourer, Trainee and Apprentice are recognised by ECS.

These FESS ECS occupations replace the existing Fire Detection & Alarm Systems and the Emergency & Security Systems cards. The FESS requirements will become compulsory in early 2021 for all new (initial) card applications meaning that all new applicants will be required to hold a pathway specific FESS assessment for the ECS occupation being applied for. From summer 2021, all card renewals will also need to meet the FESS requirements and hold a pathway specific FESS assessment.

You May Also Like

ABB launches technical channel network for drives and motors

ABB launches technical channel network for drives and motors ABB has amalgamated its UK ...

Makita’s September line up

Leading power tool manufacturer Makita UK has expanded its extensive offering with a number ...

REL Helps Deliver Restoration Of Georgian Town Hall

A Grade II listed town hall has been transformed into a museum and art ...