Industry leader Steve Murray becomes ECA President

The new President of ECA is business leader and electrical engineer, Steve Murray.

Steve jointly owns WT Jenkins, an electrical contractor based in Liverpool. Steve joined WT Jenkins in 2000 whilst undertaking a Higher National Diploma in electrical engineering. Six years later, he became co-owner of the business with Tony King.

After serving his apprenticeship, Steve worked for Stark and McCormick for 16 years, carrying out all aspects of electrical installation, maintenance and repair.

Steve has been an ECA Council member since May 2014, having previously been a Branch and Regional Chair for a number of years.

The ECA Presidency has been taken over from David Lewis. During the last 12 months, Mr. Lewis played a critical role in guiding ECA as it supported its members through a difficult period, including economic uncertainty around the coronavirus pandemic, materials shortages, and price volatility.

New ECA President Steve Murray comments: “I’m delighted to be taking over this prestigious role, representing ECA as an industry advocate and business leader.

“Our industry faces significant challenges, but I am determined to support ECA’s members and the wider industry to maximize every opportunity in the next 12 months.

“I want to use my time to enable every member to grow their business, prosper in this uncertain business climate, and be aware of all new initiatives though clear communication and ongoing support.”

ECA Presidential team

The full ECA Presidential team for 2022/23 is as follows:

President – Steve Murray

Senior Vice President – Sean Smyth

Vice President – Stuart Smith

Immediate Past President – David Lewis

ECA CEO Steve Bratt adds: “We are delighted to announce Steve Murray as our new ECA President. The entire ECA team look forward to working with Steve to further develop what the ECA delivers for its members, and in support of the wider engineering services sector.

“With Steve at the helm, ECA will continue to push the industry towards better skills and competence, safer buildings, and a greener sector as we move towards Net Zero.

“I would also like to welcome long-standing ECA advocate Sean Smyth to the role of Senior Vice President, Stuart Smith as Vice President, and finally to thank David Lewis for his vital contributions to ECA’s national and regional activity during the past year, and his support for the ECA team.”

The new ECA Presidential team was confirmed on Wednesday 11 May 2022.

You May Also Like

Get The Low-Down On Li-Fi At LuxLive

The world’s first luminaire which can deliver the internet via visible light is set to ...

Vent-Axia’s ‘COVID-19 Support Campaign’ shortlisted in prestigious HVR Awards

British ventilation manufacturer Vent-Axia is delighted to announce that it has been named as ...

Toolstation On Track To Open 60 New Branches in 2020

One of the UK’s fastest growing suppliers of tools, accessories and building supplies to ...